Will Kim Ha-sung’s SD win the NL West Division title in 17 years?

The last time the San Diego Padres won the National League West championship was in 2006. Coach Bruce Bochy (now Texas Rangers) even raised the district championship. And he was fired at the end of the season due to the responsibility of losing the Division Series for two years in a row. Immediately in 2007, the SF Giants recruited him and opened a golden era by winning the World Series three times.

SD has advanced to the postseason only twice since 2006. It is 2020 and 2022, which were scheduled for 60 games due to the corona virus pandemic. All are wild cards. Last year, veteran coach Bob Melvin drove the momentum of the wild card in his first year in office and achieved a splendid feat of advancing to the championship for the first time in 24 years since 1998.

The goal for the 2023 season is to win the NL West Division. 메이저놀이터The common point of experts is that it is possible to win the district championship by upgrading the confidence and power of advancing to the championship last season.

Since SD’s last championship in 2006, the West Division has been virtually monopolized by the Los Angeles Dodgers. During this period, the Dodgers won 11 times, and the SF Giants and Arizona Diamondbacks won twice each. Founded in 1993 in Denver, Colorado at 1600m above sea level, the Rockies have never won a district title. All five postseason advances are wild cards.

This year’s NL West is a three-way match between the Padres, Dodgers and Giants. The Diamondbacks and Rockies have not been significantly strengthened. The Dodgers have been quiet in the offseason with the aim of catching Shohei Ohtani, who will become a free agent after the 2023 season, but it is a good power to advance to fall baseball.

It’s the first time since 2006 that the Padres are outmatched and more likely to win ahead of the season. Looking at the Padres’ offseason player movement, left-hander Sean Maneia (SF Giants), right-hander Mike Clevinger (Chicago White Sox), catcher Jorge Alfaro (FA), first baseman Josh Bell (Cleveland Guardians), and outfielder Will Myers (Cincinnati) Reds), infielder Brandon Drury (LA Angels), and outfielder Urickson Profar (FA) left the team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Donec et mi molestie, bibendum metus et, vulputate enim. Duis congue varius interdum. Suspendisse potenti. Quisque et faucibus enim. Quisque sagittis turpis neque. Quisque commodo quam sed arcu hendrerit, id varius mauris accumsan.




Your site doesn’t have any tags, so there’s nothing to display here at the moment.